Mission of Saints – Blessed Gyan 114

|| Aum Sai Ram || Aum Sai Para Brahmanaa Namah ||

Institution of Saints (contd…)

“There have been institutions of Saints in this world, from time immemorial. Various Saints appear (incarnate themselves) in various places to carry out the missions allotted to them, but though they work in different places they are, as it were one. They work in unison under the common authority of the Almighty Lord, and know fully well, what each of them is doing in his place and supplement his work where necessary.

Another story given below will bring out this truth more forcibly.

Anantrao Patankar

One gentleman from Poona by name Anantrao Patankar, wished to see Baba. He came to Shirdi and took Baba’s darshan. His eyes were satisfied and he was much pleased. He fell at Baba’s Feet and after performing proper worship said to Baba, “I have read a lot, studied Vedas, Vedants and Upanishads and heard all the Puranas, but still I have not got any peace of mind so I think that all my reading was useless. Simple ignorant devout persons are better than myself. Unless the mind becomes calm, all book-learning is of no avail. I have heard, from many people, that you easily give peace of mind to so many people by your mere glance and potent word so I have come here; please take pity on me and bless me.” 

Then Baba told him a parable, which was as follows:

Parable of Nine Balls of Stool (Nava-vidha Bhakti)

‘Once a merchant came here. Before him a mare passed her stool (nine balls of stool). The merchant intent on his quest, spread the end of his Dhotar and gathered all the nine balls in it, and thus he got concentration (peace) of mind.’

Mr. Patankar could not make out the meaning of this story so, he asked Ganesh Damodar, alias Dada Kelkar, “What does Baba mean by this?” He replied, “I too do not know all that Baba says and means, but at His inspiration I say, what I come to know. The mare is God’s grace and the nine balls excreted are the nine forms or types of Bhakti, viz.,

(1) Shravan (Hearing);
(2) Kirtan (Praying);
(3) Smaran (Remembering);
(4) Padasevan (Resorting to the feet);
(5) Archan (Worship);
(6) Namaskar (Bowing);
(7) Dasya (Service);
(8) Sakhyam (Friendship);
(9) Atmanivedan (Surrender of the Self).

These are the nine types of Bhakti. If any of these is faithfully followed, Lord Hari will be pleased, and manifest Himself in the home of the devotee. All the sadhanas, viz. Japa (vocal worship), Tapa (penance), Yoga practice and studying the scriptures and expounding them are quite useless unless they are accompanied by Bhakti, i.e., devotion. Knowledge of the Vedas, or fame as a great Gnyani and mere formal Bhajan (worship) are of no avail. What is wanted is Loving Devotion. Consider yourself as the merchant or seeker after the truth, and be anxious and eager like him to collect or cultivate the nine types of devotion. Then, you will attain stability and peace of mind.”

Next day when Patankar went to Baba for salutation, he was asked whether he collected the ‘nine balls of stool’. Then he said that he being a poor fellow, should first be graced by Baba and then he would be able to collect them. Then Baba blessed and comforted him, saying that he would attain peace and welfare. After hearing this, Patankar became overjoyed and happy.”


|| Aum Sai Sharnam || May Peace Be To All ||




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s